Offender Phone System FAQ's
Offender Banking System
- 1. What type of offender is incarcerated in the Department of Corrections?
- There are four (4) categories of offenders. In descending order these are;
maximum, medium, minimum, and community. While a few facilities house more
than one category of offender, most are dedicated to a single category.
To determine the category of the facility in question, visit the Oklahoma
Department of Corrections (ODOC) web page and click “Facilities.”
Offenders assigned to maximum or medium status have generally committed
crimes that deem them to be a threat to the community and/or have proven
to be a management problem. Minimum and community offenders have typically
committed drug, alcohol, or property related offenses. A brief overview of
all incarcerated offenders is as follows: 53% non violent, 47% violent, 89.5%
male, 10.5% female. For more specific/detailed information, visit the ODOC
home page and click “Facilities,” then click the facility in
question. Here you will find a facility telephone number. Call the facility
and request the Public Information Officer.
- 2. What are typical crimes committed by offenders in the Department of Corrections?
- This is addressed, in part, in the response to the previous question. Approximately
54.6% of all offenders are under a controlling sentence as follows: Distribution
of a Controlled Dangerous Substance (17.4%), Possession of a Controlled
Dangerous Substance (10.0%), Robbery (8.7%), Assault (10.9%), and Rape
(7.6%). For more specific information, visit the ODOC home page, click “About
Us,” and then click “Facts at a Glance.”
- 3. What is the average age of an offender?
- The ODOC incarcerates adult offenders. Offenders under the age of 18 may
be adjudicated as an adult. While ages run the full gamut, the average
age is 37.6 years.
- 4. How much does it cost to incarcerate an offender?
- Costs vary per category of offender as follows: (2010 actual expenditures)
maximum $75.87, medium $42.41, minimum $40.43, community $41.55, work center
- 5. Do offenders receive pay for work performed during incarceration?
- Those offenders having institutional job assignments are paid up to $20 per
month. A very limited number of offenders having special skills and/or
assigned to special projects may receive slightly more. Additionally, offenders
assigned to Oklahoma Correctional Industries (OCI) are paid slightly more.
The reasoning behind paying offenders is two fold: it serves as an incentive
to perform well and it ensures that the offender has money to purchase
personal hygiene items of their choice from the canteen.
- 6. Do any jobs/services performed by offenders take away job opportunities
- Under the provisions of Oklahoma State Statute Title 57, Section 215, entitled “Prisoners Public Work Act,” public agencies may enter into a contract with the
ODOC to utilize offender labor. This act stipulates that offender labor is
not intended to displace employees of the contracting public agency. For
more information, visit the ODOC home page “Quick Links,” “Procedures” category. Click “Policies 09,” then click “OP-090106.”
- 7. Where are you located?
- Access the ODOC web page. Click “Facilities” at the top of the
page. Each of the 17 institutions, 7 Community Corrections Centers, and 15
Community Work Centers are listed. Click the pertinent facility and you will
be provided the address, telephone number, and a map directing you to the
- 8. What is the difference between a Community Corrections Center (CCC),
a Community Work Center (CWC), and a Halfway House?
- All three require that the offender be eligible for assignment to community
status as per OP-060104 (available for review through the Procedures link
on the ODOC web page). Assignment to community status is intended to help
offenders nearing completion of their term of incarceration adjust and prepare
for re-entry into the community. There is no significant difference between
a CCC and a CWC. All CCC’s and CWC’s are operated by the ODOC.
Generally, CWC’s are smaller facilities with fewer staff and, consequently,
fewer programs are available. The majority of offenders assigned to CCC’s
and/or CWC’s work daily in the local community under the provisions
of the Prisoners Public Work Program (PPWP). Some CCC’s and CWC’s
have a few work release allocations. All Halfway Houses are contracted and
operated by the private sector. Offenders assigned to a halfway house are
expected to participate in work release.
- 9. Visitation is a problem; can the offender be transferred closer to home?
- No. With over 25,000 offenders under ODOC purview it is simply not feasible
to transfer an offender to the facility of choice. Normally, transfers
occur only to meet assessed program needs or when an offender incurs a
security level modification.
- 10. How do I go about applying for a job with the ODOC?
- Visit the ODOC home page and click “Careers”, or contact your local Employment
- 11. How much does it cost to feed an offender?
- The average cost per day to feed an offender was $2.55 at
an institution and $2.68 for a community center. The increased cost for
community is primarily due to community centers purchasing smaller amounts
because of their smaller populations.
- 12. What meal services are provided to offenders?
- All offenders are provided three meals per day. At least two of the meals
are served “hot”. In some instances, primarily offenders working
away from the institution or center, the noon meal is a sack lunch. The
ODOC utilizes a master menu, reviewed and certified by a licensed dietitian,
to ensure proper nutritional balance and adequate calorie intake.
- 13. Do offenders have to pay any cost for their incarceration or any services
they receive during incarceration?
- Those offenders assigned to Work Release and actually receiving a pay check
are charged the daily per diem rate of the center or halfway house to which
they are housed, not to exceed 50% of their salary. No other offenders are
charged for their incarceration. The only service for which offenders are
charged is a $2.00 medical co-payment in accordance with OP-140117. This
charge is only for offender initiated requests for medical, dental, or optometric
service and for each medication issued during an offender initiated clinic
visit. No offender will be refused health care because of their financial
status. For more information, visit the ODOC web page. Under “Quick
Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policies
14”, and then click “OP-140117.”
- 14. What types of work/services do offenders perform within the community?
- Under the provisions of Oklahoma State Statute Title 57, Section 215, entitled, “Prisoners Public Works Act,” public agencies may contract for offender labor.
Such labor could be any labor routinely performed by the public agency. The
act stipulates that offender labor not displace employees of the contracting
agency. Additionally, offender labor may be utilized to benefit the public
in emergency situations such as cleaning up after a tornado, ice storm, or
- 15. Why do offenders receive Vocational Technical Training?
- Many offenders lack skills necessary to obtain jobs that pay wages suitable
to support themselves and/or their dependents. Vo-Tech training provides
these skills. Statistics support that discharging offenders with employable
skills are less likely to return to prison.
- 16. What types of recreational/leisure activities are available to offenders?
- All offenders have access to reading and writing materials. Offenders restricted
to their cell may request institutional library books be provided. Offenders
not subject to restricted movement generally have access to activities
such as basketball, volleyball, walking, jogging, and exercise equipment.
Also, dominoes, board games, and cards (gambling is prohibited). Most offenders
may also possess a television and radio.
- 17. What types of items are available for purchase at the offender canteen?
- Primarily, personal hygiene items, snack foods, and authorized over the counter
medications. Televisions and radios are also available.
- 18. What is the smoking policy?
- No tobacco or tobacco-like products are permitted at Maximum or Medium facilities. This applies to offenders, staff, and visitors. Staff
and offenders at locations housing community offenders may smoke outside
at designated locations as may staff at departmental locations that do
not house offenders.
- 19. Where do renovation and maintenance funds come from?
- All ODOC funds, for any purpose, are appropriated by the Oklahoma Legislature.
- 20. Do correctional officers carry weapons?
- Most correctional officers do not carry weapons. Officers providing perimeter
security, and having no direct contact with offenders, at medium and maximum
security facilities do carry weapons. Also, officers transporting medium
and maximum security offenders carry weapons. These weapons are secured
and the offenders handcuffed. All correctional officers receive firearm
- 21. How many staff are employed at your facility?
- Staffing varies greatly contingent upon the security level and the offender
population. For staffing information pertinent to a specific facility,
visit the ODOC web page and click “Facilities.” Then click
the facility in question where you will find the facility telephone number.
Call the facility and request to speak to the Human Resources Officer.
- 22. What programs are available to offenders?
- This will vary by facility dependent upon the availability of resources and
appropriately trained staff and/or volunteers. Most facilities offer various
educational and self-betterment classes as well as substance abuse education.
For programs available at a specific facility, visit the ODOC web page
and click “Facilities.” Then click the facility in question
where you will find the facility telephone number. Call the facility and
request to speak to the Case Manager Supervisor.
- 23. What is the facility mailing address?
- Visit the ODOC web page and click facilities. Then click the facility in
question. You will be provided the mailing address. Please note that this
may differ from the physical address.
- 24. When can I visit?
- First, you must be on the offenders authorized visiting list. The offender
must initiate your placement on his/her visiting list. Never attempt to
visit unless you know you are approved and you know the authorized visiting
days and hours. The visiting days and hours will vary from facility to
facility. To determine if you are approved to visit, call the facility
and request to speak to the Visitation Officer.
- 25. What can I bring to visitation?
- This will vary due to security level. The offender in question will generally
know and can advise you. You can also call the facility and request to speak
with the Visitation Officer.
- 26. May children visit/what are the policies for visitation by children?
- With the facility head approval, children under the age of 18 may be approved
to visit when accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or responsible adult
who is also authorized to visit. These children must be natural or adopted
children of the offender. All other children must be accompanied by a parent
or legal guardian. For more specific information, review OP-030118, entitled, “Visitation.” Visit the ODOC web page; under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policies 03,” then click “OP-030118.”
- 27. Can I send an offender money/how much?
- You may include money orders (no checks or cash) in letters sent to the offender.
Be sure to clearly indicate the offender’s name (the name under which
they are incarcerated) and ODOC number. There is no reason an offender
should need a large sum of money! Should you be requested to submit a large
sum of money, ask the offender why, then call the facility and discuss
the matter with their Case Manager.
- 28. Please explain the level system!
- The level system determines custody level, job status, program status, and
privileges. Levels range from 1 through 4. The higher the level, the better
the status. OP-060107, entitled “Systems of Incarceration,” explains
this process in detail. This policy may be accessed through the ODOC web
page. Look under “Quick Links” and click “Procedures,” then
click “Policy 06,” and then click “OP-060107.”
- 29. When will a particular offender discharge?
- This falls under confidential information and unless the inquirer can provide
a legitimate need (judicial, law enforcement, etc.), this information will
not be provided. However, the offender is provided the number of days remaining
to serve at the end of each month. This can be calculated into a release
date. If the offender is unable to calculate the release date, they may
seek assistance from the Records Manager or their Case Manager. If the
offender wants you to know their release date, they can provide it to you.
Please note that the release date is tentative and subject to change. If
you are a victim concerned about the release of a particular offender,
you should call Victim Services, telephone number 405-962-6142, or (in
state only) 1-800-232-1524.
- 30. When, and to where, will an offender transfer?
- For reasons of confidentially and security, the specific date will not be
provided. However, all transfers require completion of a transfer packet
to be completed by the confining facility and submitted to the Population
Unit. Unless there are security concerns, the offender will be advised
by their Case Manager when a transfer packet has been completed and submitted.
The Population Unit will determine when and to where the offender is transferred.
All transfers will occur as soon as possible, usually contingent upon the
availability of appropriate bed space. Your calls will not expedite transfer!
- 31. How does the offender misconduct appeal process work?
- The disciplinary process, to include appeals, is specified per OP-060125,
entitled “Department Offender Disciplinary Procedures.” To
access, visit the ODOC web page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policy 06,” then click “OP-060125.”
- 32. What is the policy for restoration of lost earned credit?
- This process is detailed in OP-060211, entitled “Sentence Administration.” This is a lengthy policy. Check the index for the specific page. Access through
the ODOC web page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then
click “Policy 06,” then click “OP-060211.”
- 33. How much money can an offender have/spend?
- This is specified under OP-060107, entitled “Systems of Incarceration.” Offenders may spend: Level 1- $5 per week, Level 2- $20 per week, Level 3- $60 per
week, and Level 4- $80 per week. Please note that only offenders assigned
to community status may actually possess money. There is no limit to the
amount of money an offender may have in their account.
- 34. How do I find out about the medical status of an offender?
- All offenders are requested to provide the name and telephone number of the
person they desire to be contacted in case of an emergency. In the event
of a medical emergency, the designated person will be contacted. The medical
status of an offender is confidential and will be provided only if the
offender signs a Consent to Release Medical Information form (available
to the offender from medical staff) designating a specific person or persons.
- 35. What religious services are available?
- Offenders assigned to community status may attend religious services in the
community under escort of an authorized religious volunteer. Approved volunteers
may also provide on center services at all security levels. Offenders assigned
to minimum, medium, or maximum institutions have access to a non-denominational
chaplain. Authorized volunteers may also provide religious services. All
offenders may receive religious materials through the mail.
- 36. What is the difference in security levels and how is the level determined?
- Security level is determined through the completion of a Custody Assessment
form. This form utilizes weights (points) assigned to several considerations
such as crime and length of sentence. The total score determines the custody
level. This process is detailed per OP-060103. To review this procedure,
visit the ODOC web page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policy 06,” then click “OP-060103.”
- 37. How do I go about acquiring offender labor?
- Offender labor is available only to public agencies as authorized per State
Statute Title 57, Section 215, entitled “Prisoners Public Work Act.” Representatives of a public agency desiring to utilize offender labor should contact the
nearest facility or center. Only offenders assigned to minimum facilities
or community centers may participate.
- 38. Please explain the Regimented Offender Discipline (RID) program.
- This program is detailed per OP-060210, entitled “Delayed Sentencing
Program For Confined Offenders.” To access, visit the ODOC web page.
Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policies
06,” then click “OP-060210.”
- 39. How many offenders are housed at your facility/how many cells, rooms,
- Visit the ODOC web page. At the top of the page, click facilities. Then click
the facility in question. If the facility site does not adequately address
your question, call the telephone number provided and request to speak with
the Public Information Officer.
- 40. How do you monitor an offender when they are working or attending an
activity outside the facility/center?
- These offenders are either supervised by ODOC staff, by a trained PPWP supervisor,
or trained volunteer. All PPWP supervisors and volunteers must participate
in an orientation conducted by ODOC. The supervisor or volunteer must report
to the control center, provide proper identification, and the participating
offenders must sign out at the time of departure and sign in upon return.
Also, ODOC staff periodically conduct unannounced site checks.
- 41. Explain the electronic monitoring program and eligibility requirements.
- This program is detailed per OP-061001, entitled “Global Position Satellite
Surveillance Program.” Visit the ODOC web page. Under “Quick
Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policies
06,” then click “OP-061001.”
- 42. Do offenders receive medical and dental care?
- The ODOC will ensure that every offender has unimpeded access to health care.
This process is detailed per OP-140117, entitled “Access to Health
Care.” To view, visit the ODOC web page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policies 14,” then click “OP-140117.” Click “OP-140124” for “Dental Services.”
- 43. Is it possible for an offender to receive medical or dental care from
the private sector?
- Under some circumstances, yes. However, the offender must provide proof that
the cost of the services will be covered. For specifics, visit the ODOC web
page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then
click “Policies 14,” then click “OP-140121.”
- 44. Can an offender attend a funeral?
- Escorted emergency leave may be granted to an offender, not deemed to be
a threat, to visit the bedside of a critically ill family member or to
attend the funeral of a family member. Family member is defined as spouse,
parents, grandparents, children, and siblings. For further clarification
visit the ODOC web page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then click “Policies 03,” then click “OP-031001,” entitled “Offender
Escorted Leave/Activities.” Check the index for emergency leave to
determine the proper page.
- 45. Can an offender attend a wedding, graduation, or other family event?
- No, offenders may not attend events such as these. For further clarification,
review “Offender Escorted Leave/Activities” as detailed in
the preceding response.
- 46. How do I go about acquiring volunteer status?
- This is detailed per OP-090211, entitled “Volunteer Program.” Visit
the ODOC web page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Procedures,” then
click “Policies 09,” then click “090211.”
- 47. If I have concerns or questions about an offender who should I contact?
- The offender’s case manager is the person you should contact. If you
do not know who the case manager is, call the facility and request to speak
with the Records Officer. He/she can assist you.
- 48. Who do I contact if I have questions or concerns about a sex offender?
- Contact the ODOC Sex Offenders Registration Unit by calling 405-425-2872.
- 49. If I have questions about the parole process and/or the parole status
of an offender, who do I contact?
- The Pardon and Parole Board is a separate state agency independent of the
Oklahoma Department of Corrections. Questions pertaining to parole should
be directed to the Pardon and Parole Board, telephone number 405-602-5863.
- 50. Who do I contact if I have questions about a private prison?
- Visit the ODOC web page. Under “Quick Links,” click “Organization,” scroll to “Field Operations” and click “Private Prisons, Jails
Updated September 14, 2011